Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Political Activism for the Novice  (Read 4337 times)

Forastero

• It's like butter
Political Activism for the Novice
« on: November 01, 2006, 03:00:50 pm »

I just wanted to post and see if anyone here has any tips on being a political activist. I am pretty new to not only the FSP but to politics as well, and I've never been one to fight for causes before, however, I wish to do so now, but I dont how to get started. And, since I hope to move to NH eventually, I want to contribute to the freedom and liberty fight, but I just seem lost as to what to do first, any suggestions?
Yeah, freedom baby, I love it!

cathleeninnh

• FSP Treasurer
  • FSP Participant
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Political Activism for the Novice
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2006, 03:15:42 pm »

I think we should put out some sort of guide for members who don't know where to start. A sort of workbook that has suggested activities to run through before you move. It could also have a move plan and NH research section.

Think of the benefit of having new movers already up to speed.

Attend council/zoning board meetings
Help a campaign
Hold a protest
Design fliers
Collect signatures
Write LTEs
Call in talk radio
Track bills

Deal with family
research NH towns
get acquainted with NH residents/laws/processes
career adjustments
save funds

It really is overwhelming to a lot of people.

Cathleen

Rocketman

• First 1000
  • FSP Participant
  • Statism Sucks
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2006, 04:00:24 pm »

Hadn't thought about it much, but you're right, Cathleen.