Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Second Amendment Activities  (Read 15148 times)

Bald Eagle

• Is it time yet?
Second Amendment Activities
« on: September 05, 2004, 08:28:32 pm »

Hello everyone,

I've been asked to help organize the Second Amendment related activities for the 2005 Porcupine Freedon Festival, as well as stand around, drink beer, and look good.

As a recent escapee of Maryland, and prior to that, the People's Republic of New Jersey, I am relatively new to the "Gun Culture" and to firearms themselves.  I have endeavored to remedy my ignorance about firearms and marksmanship, and gladly welcome the invitation to organize activities as a means of expanding my education in this area.

I am therefore inviting all Free-Staters and gun owners to chime in about the types of activities they would most like to see held at the '05 Festival.  Any and all questions and suggestions will be considered, and the only stupid questions are the ones that aren't asked.
I look forward to your suggestions, questions and comments.

My suggestions to those planning on attending:  

1)  Buy a gun.  Now.  A Right not excercised is a Right forfeited.  Buying a gun is the surest way to develop a vested interest in learning more about the right, the safe and responsible use of the firearms it protects, and the legislation that threatens you, your family and your friends.

Find a friend, borrow their gun, or rent one at a range to find out what you like and can handle.  I'll try to get some introductory information for new gun owners put together to summarize what I think is important.

2) Buy and read gun books.  "Boston's Gun Bible" is encyclopedic and well worth the $28.  Any book by Massad Ayoob or Gabriel Suarez on using firearms are a good way to learn about what to do with your new gun.  "In the Gravest Extreme" and "Combat Handgunnery" are highly recommended.