Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Thinking of making the move  (Read 1978 times)

jlarson

Thinking of making the move
« on: April 25, 2016, 11:54:42 am »

I have toyed with the idea for many years, but due to just having been laid off I am seriously considering it now. I have discussed the idea with the wife and kids and they seem open to a little adventure as well. I would like to get a little input from others on a couple of topics - jobs, and schools.

Regarding jobs, I'm a Unix/Linux geek with programming experience (mainly Perl/PHP). I've been a sysadmin for 10 years. Is there anyone else on the forum in this line of work in NH? I'd like to get an idea of what your experiences are like. Perhaps some company or location info as well, such as which areas have the best job market, what companies might be good to look at, etc.

Regarding schools, I have found some of the more highly rated schools around Amherst and Bedford. What are your impressions of these areas? Are their other areas as good? What's the traffic like? If I wanted to have a commute of no more than 30 minutes would it be feasible from these areas?

I appreciate any insight you guys can give me. Thanks :)

JasonPSorens

• Administrator
  • Neohantonum liberissimum erit.
    • My Homepage
Re: Thinking of making the move
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2016, 08:21:30 am »

I know of Free Staters who work at Dyn, Oracle, Audible, and CD-Adapco. The "tech corridor" is mostly in the Manchester to Nashua area, but there are also jobs in Lebanon and Portsmouth. I'm not in this area of work, but if you connect with me on Linkedin, you might see some people I know who work at places like these.

Amherst and Bedford are typical suburban bedroom communities. Lots of people commute from there to places like Manchester and Nashua. The housing tends to be a little expensive there.