Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: NH should repeal all HOAs and Covenants  (Read 3124 times)

Offroad603

NH should repeal all HOAs and Covenants
« on: January 28, 2014, 08:46:35 pm »

This being the Free State Project, I'm surprised I haven't seen any posts about restrictive HOAs and covenants.

As a NH resident I live in a community with some restrictive covenants.... they aren't overly restrictive, but next time I buy a house I will make sure I don't live in a community that has restrictive covenants or an HOA.   

One of the main points of the Free State Project should be to abolish all covenants and HOAs. 

freedomroad

Re: NH should repeal all HOAs and Covenants
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2014, 10:15:50 pm »

Welcome to the Forum! The FSP's only goal is to recruit 20,000 liberty activists that move to New Hampshire. Each individual has their own ideas. I agree with you that for many people, it doesn't make sense to live in a HOA. Thankfully, these are much less common in NH than in much of the nation. Needless to say, I don't live in such a community.

John Edward Mercier

• Native
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2014, 12:56:50 pm »

Abolish contracts?

freedomroad

« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2014, 01:02:30 pm »

Abolish contracts?

You bring up a good point. It is the responsibility of a party to read and understand a contract before entering into said contract. If I was looking at buying a condo, I'd like to meet the owner, talk to as many folks that live in the building as possible, have a lawyer read the contract with me, compare it with other condo contracts and so on. We are talking about a $50K - $150k investment here.

Offroad603

« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2014, 06:55:08 pm »