Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Questions on residency  (Read 1316 times)

FD123

Questions on residency
« on: June 20, 2013, 03:08:48 pm »

Hello FSP members!!
I feel like a lost sheep that found his flock!!

I am a current CT resident and am extreemly disapointed with the current state of affairs here.  I do not want to run out on my liberty loving friends here however I fear things are near hopeless for my family's home of more than 100 years. 

I am ready willing and able to purchase real estate in NH.
I have a good job in CT at this time.
Now the questions,

Can I change residency to NH without phsically being there 6 months a year??
I would be there 3 days a week plus vacations.  It will total close to 6 months.
I will draw a paycheck from a CT based company.
I wish to change drivers license, and voting to NH and will pay all taxes due in both states.
I did some research and the threshold for residency was intent.  This I pass by far.  The tax stuff seems to be more about counting the days here or there.

Thank you for your thoughts-FD123

lildog

Re: Questions on residency
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2013, 03:22:48 pm »

Only NH law I'm aware of regarding residency is RSA 21:6 which states:
A resident or inhabitant or both of this state and of any city, town or other political subdivision of this state shall be a person who is domiciled or has a place of abode or both in this state and in any city, town or other political subdivision of this state, and who has, through all of his actions, demonstrated a current intent to designate that place of abode as his principal place of physical presence for the indefinite future to the exclusion of all others.

That last part I put in bold is the only thing I can find about any period of time.  No NH laws specifically state X # of days a year or a week.