Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Pay rates VS other States  (Read 2700 times)

AndrewVanboxel

Pay rates VS other States
« on: June 03, 2013, 08:26:25 pm »

My wife and I are moving for sure the only question is when. I am a student, but I have enough certifications, and experience to get a job when we move. The only question is whether we can afford to live when we get there. I currently make about 40k, and my wife works part time at a bar. I am curious, since the cost of living is higher is pay for jobs higher than other places with a lower cost of living? Are there any movers who have came from other states who can share their experience? We are from Ohio.

crossonscout

• FSP Participant
Re: Pay rates VS other States
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2013, 10:24:53 pm »

I just moved from CT and I can tell you that while the cost of living "artificially" seems higher, it's actually much lower when you take into account all the costs you pay overall. For example, sales and income tax - those add up to a LOT of money every year for most people and while it's nickel and dimed to you to the point that you don't notice it all that much in daily life, once you add it all up (like I did) it comes to a significant amount of money. (For me for example, it's about $7,500 a year LESS I'm spending by living in NH due to no sales or income tax here.)

Hope this helps. Oh, also, I do think there are higher paying jobs here and in the Boston area if you want to travel a bit though you'll end up paying income tax to the peoples' republik of Taxachusett's. ;)