Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down

Author Topic: Military Members  (Read 12464 times)

lloydbob1

Re:Military Members
« Reply #30 on: August 20, 2003, 07:04:50 am »

As a Vietnam Era veteran, I understand that people have joined the military for years with the idea that they would protect our country and the willingness to do it.  Some have died while doing the neccessary training to carry out that protection. Most have died, not defending our country, but, in a foriegn land, for some whim of our government.
The REALITY is that we have not been attacked, without provocation, by another country since 1812!
We had no business fighting the Mexicans in the 1840's, The south in the 1860's, the Spanish in the 1890's, the Germans in 1917, the Germans, japeanese, italians in the 1940's, the North koreans in the 50's, and the North Vietnamese in the 60' and 70's. Add to this the hundreds of minor squabbles we have been involved in all over the world for more than 100 years.
These were all interventionist wars in which our young men were killed, not protecting us, but, dying at the whim of our government.

I am interested in hearing you expand on your thought that the war of 1812 was not an interventionist war and that the United States was attacked without provocation. Clearly the Embargo Act of 1807 and the Nonintercourse Act of 1809 were just as damaging diplomatically to the U.S. official position of neutrality as were the events leading up to WW 1 and 2. It should also be noted that no U.S. territory had yet been invaded by the British prior to war being declared by Congress. The declaration was clearly preemptory.

It's hard not to be "interventionist" when sea lanes and the trade that they carry are affected by foreign powers. Obviously there are historical conflicts where this is not the case, but it holds true for the major ones.

You got me?