Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Barrier to Entry in New Hampshire  (Read 15198 times)

kurtis

Barrier to Entry in New Hampshire
« on: January 09, 2013, 11:12:28 pm »

I'm posting here because I was just reading (and participating) in a long thread on Facebook. In short, someone was unhappy with the resources the FSP dedicated towards helping movers find jobs. The post was deleted.

That got me thinking about the Barrier to Entry. New Hampshire is not a cheap state. The taxes help a bit, compared to other states in the region, but are only a real significance when you make more money.

For me, the price of property and general living expenses is pretty high when you start looking at populated areas. I've been doing my business for a few years and I can't imagine raising rates high enough. I'm better off looking to work for someone else who is already setup there.

I'm not complaining! I promise. I have a couple of opportunities I'm working on and if they can pay accordingly, I'll have it relatively easy.

I'm just wondering if the barrier of entry to New Hampshire, itself, was considered much when choosing the state (I haven't read the old posts), and if it was considered, was there any solution for the average Joe who wants to see Liberty in their Lifetime? It makes me wonder how the average New Hampshirite makes it by, especially those working minimum wage jobs.

Edit: I think this should be moved to a different sub-forum but I'm not sure if I have the ability/permissions to do it.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2013, 11:24:59 pm by kurtis »

tortuga

Re: Barrier to Entry in New Hampshire
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2013, 08:01:19 am »

Ive read that NH is succumbing to the recession like everywhere else, altho not as badly. Look around, save up before you go, and take a lesser job until you can get settled.