Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What Towns Resemble Keene  (Read 3497 times)

gleongelpi

What Towns Resemble Keene
« on: April 02, 2012, 09:50:49 am »

I've been coming here for a while to read. In the process, I have discovered that Keene seems to be to my liking: a small place with a neat downtown area and a community of people that would appear to be to my liking. Via the internet, I've seen other place that appeal to me, but they all seem to be rather small. Are there other towns similar to Keene that I may also explore.

I am 64 years old and live just outside Blowing Rock, NC, which is, in a way, like Keene. I do not have much money and I am a bookkeeper, working contractually. I like being out in the country, but also like a small town atmosphere where there will be a number of nice but inexpensive restaurants, and other places where people of like mind can get together to talk. I also have this idea of wanting to start an online publication for profit, and to that end having some locals who can write would be useful.

It seems to me that I would be please with the setting at Keene, but I do not want to cut myself short by not exploring other possibilities. Any suggestions about other towns. No big cities. I do not have to be driving to take care of my regular needs.

greap

• First 1000
  • FSP Participant
  • What we have here is a failure to communicate
Re: What Towns Resemble Keene
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2012, 09:06:19 pm »

It seems to me that I would be please with the setting at Keene, but I do not want to cut myself short by not exploring other possibilities. Any suggestions about other towns. No big cities. I do not have to be driving to take care of my regular needs.

None of the "cities" in NH are particularly large, Manchester is less then 110k people and can driven through fairly quickly.