Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Home building - planning/zoning laws in NH?  (Read 10384 times)

doug2011

Home building - planning/zoning laws in NH?
« on: March 26, 2011, 11:00:11 am »

I'm a structural engineer, and I plan to build my own home.

I plan to buy some land, and set up a mobile home on the land while my home is being built.

How easy/difficult is it to do this in NH?

Thanks for all replies

anon37268573

• First1000
Re: Home building - planning/zoning laws in NH?
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2011, 11:15:08 am »

I'm a structural engineer, and I plan to build my own home.

I plan to buy some land, and set up a mobile home on the land while my home is being built.

How easy/difficult is it to do this in NH?

Thanks for all replies

It's not difficult at all in most parts of NH.  Many towns and areas do not have any zoning laws.
Grafton is one such town where many Free State early movers have settled.

Obviously, you'd have difficulty if you tried to put up a mobile home on Main Street in a major
city like Manchester.  But, if you're in anyplace that is at all small town/rural you should have
any problem at all.

I live in Salem, one of the largest towns in NH.  The large businesses here have been using
storage buildings the size of mobile homes in their parking lots for which no permit is needed.
Some old lady complained about it because she didn't like the way it "looked" and she had
nothing better to do.  She got it discussed at a town meeting but everyone just basically told
her to fuck off back to her cats and her craziness.

MaineShark

• FSP Participant
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2011, 01:39:39 pm »

I think you're more likely to run into a particular lot that has a deed restriction prohibiting mobile homes, than a town having a prohibition.

Don't buy land with a restriction, if that's important to you.