Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Advice for an early mover?  (Read 2746 times)

Ishtar

Advice for an early mover?
« on: November 11, 2010, 05:50:44 pm »

Hi everybody,

After talking about it for what seems forever, and after some recent nasty government related experiences, my boyfriend and I finally decided to take the big step, and become early movers, instead of thinking about moving plans more long term.

Right now, we’d be looking at moving somewhere this summer, at the latest by the end of 2011. We’ve got a pretty clear idea of what we want, and I’ve done a lot of research, but there are still some questions remaining as to what area exactly would be best for us.

I’m currently a college student, going for a BS in chemistry, so a 4 year college that offers this degree would be a must, so that means within about 45 min drive of Dartmouth, Durham, Plymouth, Keene or Manchester.

My husband is a software engineer, and will most likely be working from home, so high speed internet is a must, which I’ve read isn’t available in a lot of places.

We’d like to get and stay in touch with fellow porcupines, and are looking to join some of the activism going on, albeit, not very hard core.

Our eventual goal is to be as self-sufficient as possible, preferable relaying on our own water and electricity supply, growing our own vegetables and raising some animals for meat, so we’re looking for a property with at least a couple of acres, with a nice sized home. Our budget would be around 250.000 maybe stretching as far as 300.000 for the right property.

Based on that information, are there any specific areas any of you here recommend?
People to get in touch with?
People with similar circumstances?
Positive/negative feedback?
Any specific things we need to take into account?

Thanks for the help,

Ishtar

Denis Goddard

• First 1000
  • FSP Participant