Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Planning to move, need some guidance  (Read 1395 times)

majinkoola

Planning to move, need some guidance
« on: March 29, 2010, 12:43:39 am »

So I've been contemplating a move for a couple years now but am now nearly fully on board. Here's my deal.

I graduated from college last year with a math/econ degree. I didn't get a full time job and have been living with my brother and working part time as a tutor. I've been trying to get into the actuarial field, passed some actuarial exams, and have had an internship, but no luck with a full time position.

I have a car, so I could drive back, but would prefer to not. Ideally, I'd sell that to have some more funds and fly back, then move somewhere that a car is not necessary and where I could land a seasonal job (doesn't have to be related to my background) immediately. I've heard there are scores of open seasonal jobs along the coast, is that actually true? I would actually prefer somewhere near the coast like Portsmouth, but again, my main two criteria are that I could get a job immediately and would not require a car.

Anyways, any help will be appreciated. I'll be arriving at some time within the next month and giving this a shot regardless.

BigJoe

Re: Planning to move, need some guidance
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2010, 04:19:20 am »

cue the Seabrook pitch  ;D

Dreepa

• First 1000
  • Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2010, 05:28:01 am »

No car?

Manch
downtown keene
Concord
Portsmouth
Nashua

but it is much better to have a car.

Would you be willing to take 'any' job to pay the bills and then try to find work in your field?

Porcupine Realtor

• FSP Participant
  • Arrived in NH on 9/03/07!
    • Mark Warden - Porcupine Real Estate
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2010, 07:08:47 am »