Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Work for a recent college graduate  (Read 7421 times)

jrod

Work for a recent college graduate
« on: August 25, 2008, 06:35:46 pm »

Hi, I recently graduated college, with a bachelors, and was looking to move to NH. I was up there for Operation Live Free or Die, and enjoy pretty much everything about that state, and would move right away if it wasn't for the work prospect.

I haven't held a real job, just part time work. Nor do I have a useful degree (political science). Does anyone know about any bottom-floor jobs in the main cities (Manchester/Nashua/Concord)? I guess having no prior experience is a boon and a bane.

I'm not above working at Dunkin Donuts or something for the transition either, I'd just prefer something a little better paying.

Thanks!

« Last Edit: August 25, 2008, 06:38:50 pm by jrod »

J’raxis 270145

• First 1000
  • FSP Participant
  • DILIGE·QVOD·VIS·FAC
    • Jeremy J. Olson
Re: Work for a recent college graduate
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2008, 08:11:09 pm »

Nor do I have a useful degree (political science).

Perhaps one of the many ongoing campaigns by pro-liberty candidates would find that degree useful and hire you?

Brettp76

« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2008, 09:05:12 pm »

If you haven't held a real job you might as well make the move now. Even in this awful economy you can easily find a job to get you by (if you live cheaply) while you figure out what you want to do long term. With a cell phone, internet access, and perhaps some caffeine, you could probably apply for 20-30 local jobs in a day and be fielding calls for interviews within a week or less. A bachelor's degree in anything will still help.

Figure out your city and housing situation first and then just get here. You'll soon have a job and be able to contribute to an endless supply of political/philosophical activities.