Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How is the NH construction industry?  (Read 3569 times)

GTPanic

How is the NH construction industry?
« on: June 14, 2008, 01:23:07 pm »

I am 32 yo married Libertarian who is interested in the FSP. My wife is a nurse and doesn't seem to run into the finding a job issue that I do. I have been in the construction iindustry for 10 years now, and I am currently a project manager for a commercial general contractor. My degree is construction management specific. I'd like to stay in the same industry if we moved to NH, but I'm more than capable of changing industries and being successful.

Does anyone know how strong/weak the commercial construction industry is in NH? Are any particular areas experiencing good strong growth? Is there any construction at all?

As most go, this is my hurdle.

GTPanic

Re: How is the NH construction industry?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2008, 01:09:06 pm »

I assume it is doing as good as my number of responses!!!

cathleeninnh

• FSP Treasurer
  • FSP Participant
  • I'm a llama!
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2008, 01:28:34 pm »

Rising prices are hitting pretty hard. Steel and energy prices are the reasons given for the Berlin prison going in much costlier than expected.

Our custom home builder told us last week that his builder friends are not offering custom homes, only spec ones to better manage the rising prices. Everything that we estimated in the fall is costing more now.

Cathleen

maulotaur

« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2008, 01:30:22 pm »

When I was there last week looking around, I do not recall seeing any construction at all.

Fishercat

• First 1000
  • FSP Participant
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2008, 02:58:46 pm »

In the area around Concord, I know that many projects are suspended.   However, there are still a few continuing.