Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Nursing in NH  (Read 1464 times)

Crocuta

Nursing in NH
« on: December 24, 2006, 07:48:35 pm »

Hello folks!

I'll introduce myself in a couple of days (it's Christmas Eve and I'm heading out to get with the family) but I wanted to get this posted.  My wife and I have been giving some more than passing thought to joining the FSP, and I'm hoping there's someone out here that can give me an idea on some job market issues.  I've done some searching online and have a few answers, but there's nothing like info from ground zero.

I'm an emergency room Registered Nurse and I'm hoping that someone can give me an idea of the climate for nurses.  I know there's a nationwide nursing shortage, but I'm interested in hearing how nursing is viewed by NH society, the culture and reputation of any NH hospitals that you know of, and staffing issues.  If there are any ER RN's on these boards, I'd love to hear from you!

citizen_142002

• Friend of the FSP
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Nursing in NH
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2006, 11:24:46 pm »

I think that ER RNs make somewhere in he neighborhood of 25$/hr. Of course you can score overtime.
There are many nursing opportunities in New Hampshire. There are a fair number of nursing homes, so the geriatric field is always looking for people.

The hospitals are not overstaffed by any means. Dartmouth Medical center is a great facility. It's in Hanover  I think, either that or Lebanon. those towns are right next to each other.

Keene has a Dartmouth hospital branch, but it isn't nearly as big as the actual Dartmouth.

I believe that their is a Catholic hospital over in Manchester. I'm not sure of other major hospitals, although I assume that Portsmouth, Nashua, and Concord all have major facilities.