Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: College Kid Newbie  (Read 2505 times)

Josie

• FSP Participant
College Kid Newbie
« on: May 20, 2005, 03:14:34 pm »

Hi everyone. I'm a 21-year-old college kid who's always wanted independence and a place to call my own. There are things I like about big cities, but Philadelphia is crazy with taxes and mayoral corruption and new laws in the works against handguns, and I can't take it anymore.

I'm majoring in Computer-Assisted Design (lots of AutoCad experience) and I'm interested in pursuing landscape design. Right now I'm just going after entry-level Cad drafting. I'm big into gardening and small-scale farming, which is crazy for a city kid but I don't care.  ;D

I'd be moving with my 19-year-old sister, who's also small "l" libertarian. She's majoring in hotel management and would like to stay within an hour's commute of a major city, such as Boston, so we're looking at Manchester. When she heard about NH's tax system, she almost stroked out! She said, "I don't care how cold it gets, pack your d***ed bags!" :)

Can two kids expect to get work in NH without local connections?

Thanks in advance,
Josie

SteveA

• FSP Participant
  • Freedom - Are you man enough to handle it?
Re: College Kid Newbie
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2005, 03:33:39 pm »

Hiya, Josie.  Welcome to the FSP forum :)

Hi everyone. I'm a 21-year-old college kid who's always wanted independence and a place to call my own.

Well, you're in the right spot.  That's the same thing I'd love to have.  It would be nice to start up a business without having to worry about a bajillion government imposed details.