Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: An Alaskan for Alaska  (Read 2661 times)

dave belzak

• I'm a llama!
An Alaskan for Alaska
« on: July 08, 2003, 05:53:40 pm »

What more appropriate activity this 4th of July weekend, than to make my first contribution to the FSP state discussion.  I have been following the FSP quite closely for about a year now.  I am a 40+ year resident of Alaska and have lived in Idaho, Wyoming and Vermont.  I view the FSP as a high and noble mission and would love to see it succeed.  And it is because of this and nothing else that I make the following comments.

Alaska is the best state for FSP success:

#1 - What really matters?  10 to 30 years from now, after having quit your job, packed up all you gear and moved to a new state.  Settled in and found a new job, new friends and new activities.  Donating countless hours involved in politics, letters to the editor, handing our leaflets and political conversations.  Donated time and money towards the support of political candidates.   After all of this are you really going to give a damm  that it’s 5-10 degrees colder outside than in some other state?  What is more important in the lives of those you love, that they live in the freest state in the world or the temperature?  What’s going to give your life meaning and purpose?  Freedom and liberty creates jobs and wealth.  Freedom and liberty engenders a moral responsible civil society.   Freedom and liberty is job one.