Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 ... 7   Go Down

Author Topic: A possibly workable 2-state FSP strategy  (Read 28447 times)

Zxcv

A possibly workable 2-state FSP strategy
« on: January 10, 2003, 11:25:09 pm »

All things considered, I'm not a proponent of the 2-state (or East-West) strategy. However that does not stop me from thinking about it!

I've got a scenario that might be worth kicking around.

The only East-West combo that has a hope of being viable is Wyoming and Vermont, so let's just say that is it.

Now, say we modify the agreement thus:
1) We vote on the single state as it is currently set up, call that state "A". No change there.
2) Now we say, if we pass some total FSP membership threshold (and we can argue this number) in a certain time, then we let the membership vote in a runoff situation between state "A" and our Wyoming/Vermont combo. If Wyoming/Vermont wins we go that route; otherwise stay the course.

The reason I'm thinking this might be a good way to go is this:

1) If you add the population of Wyoming and Vermont, you get a "hyper-state" with a population that is still less than Idaho, New Hampshire and Maine. But it is almost certain that this hyperstate will draw more FSPers and FSP "friends" than any one of those individual states. So on this basis alone, Wyoming/Vermont is a superior choice to these 3 states. So it ought to be put into consideration.