Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Community-based and developed schooling  (Read 5110 times)

Jilks

• FSP Participant
    • Quanta Plus
Community-based and developed schooling
« on: February 27, 2003, 12:43:36 pm »

Hello everyone.

I'm new to the FSP, but have eagerly signed up after reading numerous pages on the site, which I found myself to be in agreement with. Doing work on an education related project, I quickly came to this section of the forum. After reading many of the posts on this subject, I see that most of you are for homeschooling over public schooling. I'm not entirely sure why, but would like to hear/read the reason behind this. Anywho, this topic mainly covers the use and implementation of public schools. Specifically, I'll be discussing, in no particular order, public school standards, curricula, development, testing, money, computer usage, population, and recycling. A lot of subjects, I know, but you'll see how each are, by their own means, important and, currently, problematic.

Today, educational standards, those pertaining to when an aspect of a subject should be known and understood by a student, in the U.S.A. are, mostly, created and implemented at the state level and later integrated with a school district's standards. These standards can and usually do cover standardized tests along with the basic subjects (reading, writing, science, math, social science, and so on). Of course, with standards, not everyone can adhere to them. Some schools are a few months behind, while others (like my school district) are years behind. These standards, thus, do not benifit the students in any way. They set unobtainable goals for most schools.