Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Colleges, Companies, and First Posts Oh My!  (Read 1982 times)

stimmy

Colleges, Companies, and First Posts Oh My!
« on: November 19, 2003, 10:03:59 pm »

(I apologize in advance for cross-posting this, I hope I don't irk anyone)

While I am new to the Free State Project I find myself very muchly inline with the views which are embraced by the project. Infact, for years I've wondered why someone hasn't done this. And now they have. I have not signed up as a member yet because I'm not sure of where I'll be over the next few years, but I definitely have strong interests in moving to New Hampshire.

There are two major concerns which I've struggled with over the past few months, in my deliberations about moving, and they follow:

Education

There are two schools in New Hampshire worth attending, in my humble opinion, one being the main public school, UNH, which is a mid-grade state college and should likely only be used as a stepping stone. The other is Dartmouth, which as we all know is an extremely selective and generally high-grade private school. This does not leave a great amount of room for variety and between the two schools I can't imagine they have a focus on many differn't majors. Beyond this, there aren't any JD or MD colleges in the state, to the best of my knowledge.

If you're willing to commute, you open up your options a great deal. From New Hampshires borders you have a great deal of latitude, with choices ranging from Vermont to Massachusets to possibly even Maine.

This leaves me at a stand still. Unless I get into Dartmouth, which is a stretch, I'll have to attend a school out of the state, involving driving between fourty five minutes to an hour, which, while is not something I have a problem with, as I've been doing it for years, definitely affects your ability to get involved with the school.