Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: CT Resident looking to leave for NH Need Advice  (Read 2904 times)

aoj1902

CT Resident looking to leave for NH Need Advice
« on: November 06, 2014, 05:44:58 pm »

My name is Andrew, I have a wife and a 7 month old son.  My wife and I were born and raised in CT and now we both see the big picture of what is actually happening in this state.  The electric rates, the property taxes, cost of food, well pretty much everything.  I am a well experienced automotive mechanic that has worked on everything and I have also been a service manager.   I am currently trying to find a good paying job but with the costs of living here and I cant seem to find a company that wants to pay well.  We have been house hunting in CT but my gut is telling me to not go that route where I would be stuck here.  Besides the income tax general sales tax and how is the cost of living? Food, heat, electricity? Job outlook? Just some friendly advice would be greatly appreciated.  Government is getting too big and is trying to destroy the working class aka middle class.  Thank you
 :)

JasonPSorens

• Administrator
  • Neohantonum liberissimum erit.
    • My Homepage
Re: CT Resident looking to leave for NH Need Advice
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2014, 07:28:56 pm »

Unfortunately, all of New England has been hit with the recent rate increases due to natural gas pipeline issues, as I understand it. Having lived in CT once, I'd say housing and food are cheaper here in NH, but heating is probably the same for homeowners.
"Educate your children, educate yourselves, in the love for the freedom of others, for only in this way will your own freedom not be a gratuitous gift from fate. You will be aware of its worth and will have the courage to defend it." --Joaquim Nabuco (1883), Abolitionism

aoj1902

« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2014, 07:33:21 pm »