Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Call to Action  (Read 9522 times)

Sweet_Marmot

Call to Action
« on: March 10, 2012, 07:19:51 pm »

I am new to this forum, but I am certainly glad that I found FSP! I am a high school English teacher, and my fiance is a high school math teacher. We are looking forward to starting our family soon, and with that we are strongly considering moving to New Hampshire. Before I can commit (in good faith) I really wanted to start a dialogue with all of you on this site. Hopefully you can answer some of my questions and address some of my concerns.

First and foremost, I am extremely pleased with the amount of personal freedom that is available in NH. So much in fact, that I would move my family across the country just to be involved with the freedom movement. While we can all agree that NH is NOT perfect, it is much better than most. The one area that I am most concerned with, however, is education. It seems to me that NH is actually really far behind many other states in regards to compulsory government schooling. What actions are currently being taken to address this problem?

It is certainly great that NH citizens can open carry and ride motor cycles without helmets. These are great liberties, but until the government is out of the classroom, none of it matters. One only need read John Taylor Gatto or Neil Postman to see what I mean. Education should be the first thing that is addressed by FSP. Everything else (guns, war, drugs, etc.) are irrelevant if there is not an educated population that is capable of maintaining (and fighting for more) liberty.