Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Belgian living in the UK  (Read 8848 times)

derfy26

Belgian living in the UK
« on: December 16, 2010, 06:02:28 pm »

Hey guys,

I'm in my final year at university, completing a BSc in Economics.

I'm a Belgian national, but have been living in the UK for almost 3 years now (with holidays spent abroad with parents). Also, before becoming Belgian nationals, my parents immigrated from Russia when the Soviet Union collapsed. My English is better than my Russian though, since that is the language I've been educated in.

I've been wanting to immigrate to the U.S. for three years now, and every year I spend in the UK just makes me want to immigrate even more (I can imagine how bad that makes the UK sound, huh). I've been aware of the FSP for well over 4 years now, before I seriously started thinking about moving to the U.S., and it's just occurred to me now, if I'm going to move, why not settle near some liberty minded individuals in one of the freest places on earth, and help out with a good cause? fyi, i'm a voluntaryist.

I do speak Russian fluently, and could easily improve the written component if required. I also speak a fair bit of French (though my grammar is frankly terrible) after living in Belgium for most of my life. For what it's worth, I also did a summer internship at JP Morgan, but I have no other official work experience.

I understand the only way I can obtain a green card is through a job, so, how likely is it that I will be able to find a job with my credentials? I have no high expectations of jobs coming from an Economics degree, and would be quite willing to do any job that has at least some prospect of career advancement, though I suppose this need not necessarily be the job I immigrate for.

Also, whatever expenses need to be incurred to obtain a green card, I will likely be able to pay for.