Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: 17 and ready to move -- but can I legally?  (Read 20346 times)

MercuryLime

17 and ready to move -- but can I legally?
« on: April 25, 2008, 08:39:56 pm »

Hey,

My name is Patrick, and I am a 17-year-old Kansan. I'm a libertarian/minarchist video game designer / blogger and I'm attempting to simulate my rite of passage by traveling throughout America this summer.

I have been searching for weeks on legal info regarding my dilemma. Maybe you guys can help.

Simply put: I'm 17, but if I move to another state, is it in Kansas' jurisdiction to pull me back? BTW, I'm graduating a year early--this May--so I'll have my HS diploma and everything. Also, my parents do not support my desire to move out. They want control of me 'till I'm 18.

After finding FSP, I know where in America I will probably end up residing. Finding a like-mined community like this is a dream come true for me. NOBODY I know in person is as strong an advocate for liberty as I am, and I was starting to give up hope that people like you existed in significant quantities.

Anybody know the legality of my situation? I'd like to end up in NH at the end of this summer and start building connections in the community there. Is it possible for me to legally do that?

I'll ask in a legal forum also, so don't worry about it if you don't know. I am so excited to be a part of FSP and I can't wait to surround myself with people who actually believe in limited government and individual liberty! I'll go to PorcFest if I can make it but it's coming up really soon and I don't know if I can make it there in time. Plus, NH will probably ruin my experience of the rest of America, because the rest of America won't measure up. ;)

rossby

• Director of Development
  • Global Moderator
Re: 17 and ready to move -- but can I legally?
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2008, 09:42:21 pm »