Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Homeschooling laws  (Read 16648 times)

pinkmandy

Homeschooling laws
« on: March 14, 2008, 12:46:21 pm »

How is it that NH, the live free or die state, has such draconian hs laws? What is up w/that and is there a movement underway to change them? The laws disturb me.

MTPorcupine3

• Sovereign Solutions: Free State Project
Re: Homeschooling laws
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2008, 05:27:01 pm »

We've got our work cut out for us. Meanwhile, it's up to you to decide whether civil disobedience is in order.

sj

• Administrator
    • The Ridley Report
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2008, 06:09:17 pm »

We've got our work cut out for us. Meanwhile, it's up to you to decide whether civil disobedience is in order.

At the risk of one's children?!  I would never do such a thing with my own munchkins (if I had any).  I was self-taught in a pretty draconian state myself (Pennsylvania).  Hopefully we can improve the laws in New Hampshire.
Moved?  Email Moved@FreeStateProject.org to let them know where you landed, and to get your mover number.

JonM

• First 1000
  • Administrator
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2008, 07:47:36 am »

pinkmandy

« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2008, 10:25:58 am »

Home education in New Hampshire is governed by RSA 193-A, which went into effect on July 1, 1991, and by the changes under House Bill 406 which went into effect May 12, 2006. Under this law, parents or legal guardians who wish to homeschool their child(ren) are required to: 

Contact a participating agency (in most cases, the local school superintendent or a participating private school ) of their intent to homeschool.
Keep a portfolio of the homeschooled child’s work and log of reading materials
Have an annual evaluation demonstrating educational progress commensurate with the child’s age and ability. These requirements are explained in more detail below.