Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: "Free State University" - that idea still around?  (Read 4880 times)

creaganlios

"Free State University" - that idea still around?
« on: July 04, 2005, 07:04:11 am »

Is anyone aware of an effort to get a private college started by FSP folks?  I remember talk of one several years ago, but I can't seem to find any web referebce or discussion board for it.  I'm a college prof who's getting itchy to start something new and exciting  ;D
Thom

Simon Jester

• First 1000
  • FSP Participant
  • Peas: Don't hate them because they're round
Re: "Free State University" - that idea still around?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2005, 08:12:28 am »

Ooh, ooh, ooh! I am a college student who is ready and eager to see the US university system get smashed to bits for being inefficient and old fashioned :) I don't have any other plans besides that, and I'm not interested in teaching (being one of those weirdos that believes things can only be learned, not taught), but I am extremely interested in getting it started up.

The first rule of the Free State University (and any other Free State School) is that only real books written on whatever topic can be used, no textbooks!

I also think we could very efficiently do most of the courses online, thus eliminating the need for expensive infrastructure while forming geographical groups of students who can get together in real life when they want in order to discuss the texts, or have a traditional college drinking atmosphere :)

Mainly I just want to get rid of all the gen ed (that is, making up for crappy high schools) and diversity bull :)

So, what do you teach, Thom? I'm an econ major (if you didn't notice from my talk of efficiency...)
It matters not how strait the gate,
    How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate:
    I am the captain of my soul.

William Ernest Henley