Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: I Need Help In Making The Move  (Read 423 times)

mwstroberg

• FSP Participant
I Need Help In Making The Move
« on: April 25, 2017, 01:45:46 am »

Hi all, my name is Mark W. Stroberg, and I have been a Free State Project member since May of 2004. When I lost my job (I am a software engineer) in 2011 in Sunnyvale, CA, my woman and I ended up homeless for five months, living in a Safeway parking lot in my car. My former coworker, Kevin, helped us move to Montana and gave me a job with his remote software consulting business. Things have been up and down, but at least I've had food to eat and a roof over my head for 6 years now. The problem is, I want to thrive, not simply exist. My current situation is stultifying, and I have little freedom to maneuver, either employment wise or in regard to where I live. We are quite frugal, and do not squander our money. My medical expenses are fairly high, however, and it is really difficult to make ends meet. Any Obamacare policy would be an absolute joke, costing thousands of dollars a year and imposing thousands of dollars in deductibles.

We intend to make the move soon, within a month or two. While I can come up with the money to actually transport us to New Hampshire, I honestly don't know how I would pay for a deposit and first months rent on an apartment or rental property to live in for a month or so while I looked for work. I have several questions:

1. What area of New Hampshire would be the best for looking for a software engineering job? I am willing to commute a reasonable distance, perhaps even out of State. I am going to look for work before I move, but am going to move soon regardless, before my spirits fall any lower.