Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hello from Virginia!  (Read 4625 times)

Kipper

Hello from Virginia!
« on: July 24, 2014, 05:42:00 am »

Hey guys,

Just doing a quick intro as well as posting a few questions. Currently living in Va and I have been considering the move to NH for a few years now. I have not officially signed up but I am a friend of the movement. I am single, in my early 30's and I am currently going back to school for a career in the IT field (hopefully!). Although I am busy with school and work at the moment, I do not have any family obligations that could prevent me from making the move. I am currently in the retail/restaurant field and have around 13 years or so in management  so I am not overly concerned about finding work in NH. That being said I do have a few questions about NH.

Though being around people of a similar mindset is a wonderful benefit, I am curious about how different living in NH is versus another state. I am not sure if there are any people from Va who could help with this but any info on this would  be nice. Are the taxes so low that they really do free up a noticeable chunk of income? Are people in NH much more lax when it comes to what others do? I ask this question because I have read not to disclose to a future landlord or employer that you are joining the FSP. I understand the reasoning behind that but we are moving to make an impact on government and that gets done by getting the message out. I don't want to move and feel the urge to keep all my intentions private in fear of ridicule, I get enough of that here in the Commonwealth. Although I know it is a long hard fight, do you all feel there has been progress?