Free State Project Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Music scene in NH  (Read 2504 times)

Free_Bass_Player

Music scene in NH
« on: October 10, 2015, 08:06:26 am »

I am a musician that plays just about any genre of music and my wife, family and I are planning on moving to NH after this school year. We have been moved around a lot lately (since 2005) where we lived in what we thought was a quite conservative liberatarian state, Georgia. SInce we have been all over the west coast of Florida, Colorado, California, back to Georgia and now in FLA. I want to move once more to New Hampshire.

I play bass guitar and have recently played country, southern rock and had my own Blues Band. I personally don't do any drugs but I have no problem with 420. Not interested in getting with people that do harder drugs.

My question is are there a lot of musicians in New Hampshire? Are there a lot of opportunities to form a band or join a band? Are there venues to play at in New Hampshire (not dives)? I thought Florida had opportunities to play but I have not been successful with paying gigs here.
Thanks
Corey

Kamekazi Seagull

Re: Music scene in NH
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2015, 08:43:41 pm »

You might have some luck on the seacoast. I know The Stone Church in Newmarket sometimes hosts blues bands. Also Portsmouth has several venues with live music.

freedomroad

« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2015, 07:07:29 pm »

You might have some luck on the seacoast. I know The Stone Church in Newmarket sometimes hosts blues bands. Also Portsmouth has several venues with live music.

Seems like a good location. Dover and Portsmouth have several places where live bands play for money. There might be more opportunity in Portland, ME or Boston, MA, though. Of course, as was mentioned, the Seacoast is a good location. It is between Portland and Boston.

painehead

« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2016, 06:22:46 pm »