Here is some info that relates to the DMV in each state:
When you become a resident of your new state, remember to get a new driver's license and register any vehicles you may have.
Here is some trivia I gathered by going to each state's DMV site, finding out the maximum time before you must transfer your old operator's license to the new state to drive on public roads within the state as you become a new resident, followed by the total cost of fees to surrender your old license and take the minimum test for a basic, non-restricted non-commercial driver or operator license:
in alphabetical order,
Alaska, 90 days, pay $20
Delaware, 60 days, pay $12.50
Idaho, 90 days, pay $24.50
Montana, 120 days, pay $32 (lasts eight years)
New Hampshire, no formal requirement until after residency is established, unknown? (one unofficial source stated 30 days), pay $32
North Dakota, 60 days, pay $15
South Dakota, 30 days, (law is unclear), pay $8
Vermont, 6 months, pay $20
Wyoming, Must obtain drivers license upon becoming resident, no apparent specification of time limit, must pay $20
Maine, upon becoming resident, $40
For beginner drivers, those restricted beginner's or learner's permits may be valid in-state from another state:
1. States that freely accept learner's permits from other states as valid and under basic terms of issuing state:
Delaware, Wyoming, North Dakota, Montana
2. States that freely accept learner's permits from other states but only on terms of state law.
Idaho, Alaska, Maine(also accepts Canadian provinces),
3. South Dakota will accept permits from states that accept South Dakota permits (reciprocity).
4. Will not accept out- of- state beginner's permits
New Hampshire, Vermont
And lastly, relating cars and guns, according to the website packing.org, they have determined what states have "gun-friendly peaceable journey laws":
(According to packing.org)
Yes: AK, ID, WY, MT, VT,
No: SD, DE, ME, ND, NH
I am still compiling some info on window-tinting laws and vehicle inspection laws, coming soon.